He’s Only Human

bjc

Human by Rag’n’Bone Man is out today and (literal, actual CM legend) Ben Jackson-Cook plays piano on it. And he is the band’s MD.

“The job means I’m responsible for the live band and Rory’s live performance. This can mean choosing musicians, creating new arrangements, organising live lounge covers, creating track if needed. It also stretches to making sure the musicians are paid correctly and looked after. I’ve been working with Rory for two years, and before I was playing for other major label artists in London”

After graduation Ben got a job with his friends from CM working for Disney Cruise Line in the US for a year before heading back to London where he got stuck into some serious networking.

“I’d go to lots of pop gigs and find out who the musicians who were in the band, add them on Facebook and hope that one day they would need a keyboard player urgently and I could save the day, which worked a couple of times. I met a couple of fixers in London, who helped me with my first TV work with X Factor. I got in contact with ex Bath Spa student Sam Kennedy who is musical director for Foxes, and who gave me great advice and also my first bits of MD work. I then ended up playing for Foxes when Sam wasn’t free. Other people I’ve played for include Omi, Angel, Kelvin Jones, Little Mix, The Beach, Ben Haenow, Mollie King (The Saturdays) and Ella Eyre.”

rnbm

Last year Rag’n’Bone Man played Montreaux Jazz Festival, Glastonbury, North Sea Jazz and travelled across Europe, Australia and the States.Along with these gigs and festivals the band has been doing a lot of TV including Jools Holland, Jimmy Fallon and Graham Norton.
Which goes out tonight!

bjc2

Leave a Reply

