A soldier came marching along the high road

JB

Joe Butcher has been hard at work writing songs for AsOne Theatre Company‘s “Tinderbox”, a re-imagining of the famous Hans Christian Andersen tale.

“Tinderbox” combines masks, puppetry, physical choreography and live music (the songs are played live on stage by the actors) to tell this story of fate, greed, hope and love.
The production has been touring the South West throughout October and November. You can still catch it at the Shelley Theatre in Bournemouth on the 4th and 5th of December.

“As a songwriter who has always been inspired by the atmosphere of theatre, I leapt at this opportunity. Traditional folk music will always be a genre that I inhabit naturally so working on this project was perfect for me to confidently tackle my first commission as a professional songwriter.
I would like to thank Jane McKell and Jacqueline Avery from AsOne Theatre for this incredible opportunity as well as my lecturers from the Bath Spa Commercial Music course, without whom I would never have developed the confidence and skills to complete this piece of work.”

